Some documents are in Adobe Acrobat Portable Document Format (PDF). The latest version of the viewer software is available free of charge from Adobe. For more information, click here.

Council Membership

The Campus Alberta Quality Council consists of 11 members, including a Chair, who are appointed by the Minister of Advanced Education.  Council is currently led by two Co-Chairs, Dr. Peter Mahaffy and Dr. Art Quinney. 

The normal term of office for members is three years, and members may be reappointed.   

Members of the Council

Peter MahaffyDr. Peter Mahaffy, Co-Chair (Term: September 3, 2015 to June 30, 2017), is Professor of Chemistry at The King's University and co-director of the King's Centre for Visualization in Science. He is active internationally in science and science education including being a former chair of the Committee on Chemistry Education of the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry. He is a 3M National Teaching Fellow and a previous member of the Private Colleges Accreditation Board.

Art_Quinney(1).jpgDr. Art Quinney, Co-Chair (Term: September 3, 2015 to June 30, 2017), is a professor emeritus of the University of Alberta, former Chair of the Department of Physical Education and Sport Studies, and former Dean of Physical Education and Recreation.  He was Associate Vice-President (Academic) from 2000-2002 and Deputy Provost from 2002-2007.  Art is the Chair of the Board of Active Healthy Kids Canada and a member of the Board of Directors of ParticipAction.


Gurston_Ducks.jpgDr. Gurston Dacks (Term: December 1, 2016 to November 30, 2017), is a professor emeritus of Political Science and former Acting Dean of Arts at the University of Alberta. He served on the Board of Governors and the Academic Standards Committee of the University and, in his administrative roles in the Faculties of Arts and Native Studies, participated in preparing undergraduate and graduate program proposals.

Judy_Eifert.jpgDr. Judy Eifert (Term: December 1, 2016 to November 30, 2017), served as Provost and Vice-President Academic, Dean of Continuing Education, Dean of Community and Health Studies, and Department Chair of Nursing at Mount Royal College (now Mount Royal University).  She currently works as an educational consultant to colleges and universities in Canada.

Paul _GoochDr. Paul Gooch (Term: January 30, 2015 to June 30, 2018), is Professor of Philosophy and President & Vice-Chancellor of Victoria University, federated with the University of Toronto.  He has held various academic administrative posts at the University of Toronto, including Vice-Provost, decanal positions in the School of Graduate Studies, and chair of Humanities at the Scarborough campus.  His scholarly work is in Plato and in philosophical theology. 

Gord NixonDr. Gordon Nixon (Term: October 30, 2014 to June 30, 2017), is the former Vice President Academic and Dean of Information and Communications Technologies at SAIT Polytechnic. He has served on a number of academic and business committees and boards provincially, nationally and internationally.

Janet Paterson-WeirDr. Janet Paterson-Weir (Term: October 30, 2014 to June 30, 2017), served as Provost and Vice President, Academic at Grant MacEwan University from 2001-2013. She is the former Executive Dean of Business and Applied Arts and professor of Business at Algonquin College in Ottawa.

RobertWoodrow.jpgDr. Robert Woodrow (Term: December 1, 2016 to November 30, 2017), is a Professor of Mathematics and Statistics at the University of Calgary.  Until June 2010 he was Deputy Provost and Associate Vice-President (Academic),  before which he served as Associate Dean and Vice Dean in Science and AVP(A).  He has been active with mathematics outreach and the activities of the Canadian Mathematics Society, as well as curriculum development and renewal with Alberta Education and at the post-secondary level.